Skip to main content

Azure DevOps–Set default access level

Something that I always have to explain when someone uses Azure DevOps for the first time is that there are 2 levels that needs to be configured to give someone access to Azure DevOps.

The first level is the security level. By adding a user to a specific security group at the project level, the user is able to access specific features and execute specific actions

However there is also a second level, the access level. This level is related to the acquired license and also defines which features are available to you.

So only if the 2 levels align, you can use a specific feature inside Azure DevOps

A typical situation:

A project administrator adds a new user to a team inside Azure DevOps. By adding a user to a team, he is added to the Contributor group and should be able to access most features at the project level. However because he is new in Azure DevOps, the user gets a default access level assigned. If you didn’t change this default, this will be the Stakeholder access level which gives access to a rather limited set of features.

If you want to assign a different access level by default, this can be done through the following steps:

  • Go to your Azure DevOps Organization
  • Click on Organization settings in the bottom left corner
  • Go to the Billing tab under General.
  • Go to Settings and change the Access level through the dropdown. Don’t forget to click on Save to apply the changes.

More information

About access levels - Azure DevOps | Microsoft Learn

Get started with permissions, access levels, and security groups - Azure DevOps | Microsoft Learn

Popular posts from this blog

DevToys–A swiss army knife for developers

As a developer there are a lot of small tasks you need to do as part of your coding, debugging and testing activities.  DevToys is an offline windows app that tries to help you with these tasks. Instead of using different websites you get a fully offline experience offering help for a large list of tasks. Many tools are available. Here is the current list: Converters JSON <> YAML Timestamp Number Base Cron Parser Encoders / Decoders HTML URL Base64 Text & Image GZip JWT Decoder Formatters JSON SQL XML Generators Hash (MD5, SHA1, SHA256, SHA512) UUID 1 and 4 Lorem Ipsum Checksum Text Escape / Unescape Inspector & Case Converter Regex Tester Text Comparer XML Validator Markdown Preview Graphic Color B

Help! I accidently enabled HSTS–on localhost

I ran into an issue after accidently enabling HSTS for a website on localhost. This was not an issue for the original website that was running in IIS and had a certificate configured. But when I tried to run an Angular app a little bit later on http://localhost:4200 the browser redirected me immediately to https://localhost . Whoops! That was not what I wanted in this case. To fix it, you need to go the network settings of your browser, there are available at: chrome://net-internals/#hsts edge://net-internals/#hsts brave://net-internals/#hsts Enter ‘localhost’ in the domain textbox under the Delete domain security policies section and hit Delete . That should do the trick…

Azure DevOps/ GitHub emoji

I’m really bad at remembering emoji’s. So here is cheat sheet with all emoji’s that can be used in tools that support the github emoji markdown markup: All credits go to rcaviers who created this list.