Saturday, October 24, 2009

C# and it’s lifecycle

Everything becomes obsolete sooner or later. The same thing counts for programming languages.  The lifecycle of a programming language can be divided in 7 phases:

  • Conception
  • Adoption
  • Acceptance
  • Maturation
  • Inefficiency
  • Deprecation
  • Decay

Scot Allen is starting an in interesting discussion about the language phase where C# is today.

Can things only get worse after C# 4.0? Or will there still be some interesting evolutions for the C# programming language? Maybe the dynamic keyword is just a sign for what will be next…

1 comment:

Andy Turner said...

Firstly, there seems to be a large stage missing between conception and adoption - what about building it?

Secondly, in a similar vein, I always find I go through these stages when adopting new tech:

1. Hearing about something new which will apparently solve all my problems with previous tech.
2. Wondering what the hell it's for and how I would use it.
3. Getting interesting and learning it.
4. Thinking it's awesome and starting to introduce it in all my projects.
5. Using it all day and starting to realise its limitations.
6. Deciding that it's rubbish after all.
7. Goto 1.